Skip to main content
Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

Dr Shrum, orange pinstripe suitAbout the President

Dr. Kayse Shrum


The 19th president of Oklahoma State University

On April 2, 2021, the OSU/A&M Board of Regents selected Dr. Kayse Shrum as the 19th president of Oklahoma State University. A native Oklahoman, President Shrum earned her doctor of osteopathic medicine degree from the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine and has completed executive leadership and management training programs at Harvard University and Stanford University.


A landmark first year in office

Since taking office in July 2021, Dr. Shrum has forged a new chapter for OSU — boldly facing challenges like conference realignment and COVID-19 while positioning the university for future success by embarking on a strategic planning process. The systemwide strategy process will guide the future of OSU and secure its position as the nation’s premier land-grant university — with a focus on creating and discovering solutions to societal problems, providing students with a world-class education and sending them into the world after graduation well-equipped to handle the challenges before them. 


During her first year as president of the OSU system, Shrum also launched key initiatives and partnerships, such as the Hamm Institute for American Energy at Oklahoma State University. Made possible by a combined $50 million gift from The Harold Hamm Foundation and Continental Resources, the Hamm Institute’s mission is to educate the next generation of energy pioneers, cementing Oklahoma’s legacy as a global energy leader. 


Shrum also celebrated the creation of the Oklahoma Aerospace Institute for Research and Education (OAIRE), which will elevate OSU’s historic strength in aerospace engineering, flight training and aeronautics. This university-level institute brings the state’s aerospace innovation economy together under one umbrella. OAIRE will support ongoing and future partnerships between university, commercial, military and government agencies, becoming a valuable resource for developing Oklahoma’s aerospace ecosystem. That includes generating high-tech jobs and cutting-edge research that brings commercial enterprise and military sustainment support to the state.




A trailblazing journey 

Before being selected to lead the OSU system, Dr. Shrum was named president of OSU Center for Health Sciences (OSU-CHS) in 2013, becoming the youngest and first female president and dean of a medical school in the state of Oklahoma. Shrum held the George Kaiser Family Foundation Chair in Medical Excellence and Service and the Saint Francis Health System Endowed Chair of Pediatrics. 


Under her leadership, OSU-CHS experienced unprecedented growth. Student enrollment more than doubled as new academic programs were established to meet the state’s health care workforce needs. She also led the construction of the A.R. and Marylouise Tandy Medical Academic Building, a state-of-the-art learning facility that houses Oklahoma’s largest and most technologically advanced hospital simulation center. 


A strong supporter of collaborative partnerships, Dr. Shrum worked with then Cherokee Nation Principal Chief Bill John Baker and his administration to establish the nation’s first tribally affiliated medical school — the OSU College of Osteopathic Medicine at the Cherokee Nation — which opened in fall 2020. She also helped secure a landmark investment from Purdue Pharma in the amount of $197.5 million to create a center of excellence in addiction treatment and studies to address the opioid addiction epidemic — the National Center for Wellness and Recovery. 


Dr. Shrum also launched award-winning high school recruiting programs like Operation Orange and Blue Coat to White Coat, established the Rural Medical Track curriculum and expanded the number of residency training programs in rural Oklahoma by securing support from the Oklahoma Legislature, Oklahoma Health Care Authority and Oklahoma Tobacco Settlement Endowment Trust. 


Paying it forward

President Shrum is active in a variety of charitable and professional organizations. She is a board member of the Children’s Hospital Foundation at Saint Francis, Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Oklahoma, State Chamber of Oklahoma, PLICO, Oklahoma Hall of Fame, Oklahoma Foundation for Excellence, Oklahoma State University Medical Authority and Trust, Texas A&M Center for Optimizing Rural Health, and Women for OSU Council. She holds committee positions in osteopathic professional organizations including the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicines, American Osteopathic Association, and American Osteopathic Board of Pediatrics.


Leading with excellence

Dr. Shrum's leadership, professional and civic contributions have led to notable recognition and awards. Her honors include:

  • 2022 Oklahoma Women’s Hall of Fame induction
  • 2022 Oklahoma Osteopathic Association DO of the Decade
  • 2020 Journal Record Health Care Hero
  • 2020 Osteopathic Founders Foundation Outstanding Physician Award
  • 2020 Becker's Hospital Review “100 Academic Medical Center CEOs to Know”
  • 2019 Connors State College Alumni Hall of Fame induction
  • 2019 Tulsa Osteopathic Medical Society Osteopathic Impact Award
  • 2019 Journal Record’s 2019 Woman of Year Award
  • 2018 Newsmaker Award by the Association for Women in Communications Tulsa Chapter
  • 2014 Oklahoma Osteopathic Association’s Outstanding & Distinguished Service Award
  • 2013 Connors State College Athletics Hall of Fame induction
  • 2012 Tulsa Mayor’s Commission on the Status of Women’s Pinnacle Award for Health
Back To Top
SVG directory not found.